Tambalque, Lee claim dramatic playoff wins in JPGT national finals


Patrick Tambalque. –CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Patrick Tambalque and Korean Ji Won Lee captured the boys’ 13-14 and girls’ 15-18 crowns, respectively, in a pair of sudden deaths that highlighted the competitive ICTSI Junior PGT national finals at The Country Club in Laguna Tuesday.

Tambalque, who topped the five-round Luzon eliminations, returned a five-over-par 77 worth 49 points using the molave scoring system to force a playoff with Vis-Min series topnotcher Clement Ordeneza, who blew a huge lead by dropping five shots in his last four holes.

Lee, on the other hand, bogeyed the tricky par-3 17th and finished with a 76 for 50 points, enabling Cagayan de Oro’s Alethea Gaccion, who closed out with three pars, to force a playoff.

But Tambalque and Lee both birdied the playoff hole (No. 10) under overcast skies to lead the eight winners in the 18-hole stroke play finale of the pioneering season-long series put up by ICTSI that featured the drive, chip and putt challenge and 18-hole tournaments.

Joining Tambalque and Lee in the podium are Jared Saban and Quincy Pilac (9-10), Ralph Batican and Precious Zaragosa (11-12), Isabella Tabanas (girls’ 13-14) and Zeus Sara (boys’ 15-18).

Alexander Crisostomo, meanwhile, came in third the in boys’ 13-14 with 47 points, while Lia Duque placed third in girls’ 15-18 with 43 with Angelica Bañez ending up fourth with 40 points.

Tambalque and Lee’s victories also averted a complete domination by the VisMin bets, who won four age-group titles in the talent search organized by Pilipinas Golf Tournaments, Inc.

Winners of the inaugural ICTSI Junior PGT Series display their medals and prizes after the 18-hole stroke play finals at The Country Club yesterday. They are (from left) Jiwon Lee (15-18), Isabella Tabanas (13-14), Precious Zaragosa (11-12), Quincy Pilac (9-10), Jared Saban (9-10), Ralph Batican (11-12), Patrick Tambalque (13-14) and Zeus Sara (15-18). –CONTRIBUTED PH

Winners of the inaugural ICTSI Junior PGT Series (from left): Jiwon Lee (15-18), Isabella Tabanas (13-14), Precious Zaragosa (11-12), Quincy Pilac (9-10), Jared Saban (9-10), Ralph Batican (11-12), Patrick Tambalque (13-14) and Zeus Sara (15-18). –CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Luzon topnotcher Pilac and No. 2 Zaragosa captured the girls’ 9-10 and 11-12 trophies, respectively, with the former posting 42 points for a three-point romp over Rafella Batican, who scored 39.

Eliana Dumalaog wound up third with 38 points.

Zaragosa matched par 72 worth 54 points as she turned back sisters Lisa and Mona Sarines, who finished with 52 and 46 points, respectively.
Sara, from Davao, produced 50 points and nipped David Serdenia and Zachary Villaroman by two points to secure the boys’ 15-18 age group

Serdenia and Villaroman, who topped the five-round Luzon eliminations, returned 48 points with Serdenia claiming runner-up honors via countback.

Tabanas put up an impressive frontside 37 then bucked a triple-bogey on TCC’s tough finishing hole as she assembled 43 points and beat Levonne Talion by two for the girls’ 13-14 diadem.

Talion wound up with 41 points, while Rafa Anciano placed third with 38.

Saban, also from Davao, birdied the last hole and ran way with the boys’ 9-10 title with 52 points, besting Vito Sarines, who scored 49 points, while Race Manhit placed third with 48 points.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.

Your subscription has been successful.

Batican, from Cagayan de Oro, ripped the boys’ 11-12 field, coming away with 52 points to post a five-point victory over Aenzo Sulaik, who scored 47 points, with Marcus Duenas ending up third with 45 points. –MUSONG R. CASTILLO

Source link

Denial of responsibility! Planetconcerns is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave a comment